Sterling Fellows celebrate with dinner and musical celebration

Provost Peter Salovey ’86 Ph.D. and Sterling Fellows Chair Whitney MacMillan ’51 welcomed new members of the Sterling Fellows.

The Sterling Fellows, a society of Yale’s leadership donors, convened May 5, 2009, at New York City’s Rockefeller Center for their ninth gathering. Whitney MacMillan ’51, who chairs the fellowship, joined Provost Peter Salovey ’86 Ph.D.  in the Rainbow Room to host a dinner and musical celebration.

In his remarks, Provost Salovey thanked the Sterling Fellows for their generosity: “You are Yale’s most generous alumni, parents, and friends, following in the tradition of the great Yale philanthropist John W. Sterling, Class of 1864, even as you begin your own traditions of extraordinary support for Yale.” He noted that the turnout for the event—163 members and friends—was the largest in the history of a body that now includes 466 fellows. In 2008–2009, 43 new fellows joined the group. 

The evening’s entertainment showcased a group of talented young Elis. Robert Blocker, dean of Yale’s School of Music, was emcee for a program produced, directed, and performed by students and recent graduates of Yale College, the Graduate School, and the Music School. Ethan Heard ’07 directed the show, Megan Loughran ’09 was undergraduate producer, and Daniel Schlosberg ’10 was musical director. Andrew Rubenoff ’83 DRA provided lighting design.

New fellows attending the event included Ruth and Howard Benedict, Sterling Brinkley ’74, David Brown ’01, Jane Buchan ’86, Jeffrey and Marisa Cohen, Bill Donaldson ’53, Steve Gates ’68, Mary Helzer P ’95, P ’01, Redmond Ingalls ’98, Thomas Ketchum ’79, Dennis Lynch ’64, Anne MacKenzie ’81, Nancy Marx Better ’84, Marc Mayer ’78, Steve Newhouse ’79, Ron Sampson ’63, Kinnie Smith ’53, Caren Sturges, and Charles Sutphin ’81.

(May 18, 2009)

May 18, 2009