Trumbull College Rededication Celebrated

 Sisters Maria Alvarez and Carla Alvarez ’05, President Richard C. Levin, Carlos Alvarez and Victor Henrich. Rear (left to right) Maria Alvarez and Master Janet Henrich.

More than 150 alumni, students, faculty, and staff gathered in the Trumbull College dining hall on April 18, 2007, to celebrate the rededication of the newly renovated college.

Trumbull Master Janet Henrich opened the ceremony following a stirring performance by student pipers John Errico ’08 and John Graham ’08. In his dedicatory remarks, President Richard C. Levin thanked the alumni, parents, and friends who supported the renovation, and noted that, “The residential colleges are among the University’s greatest treasures. They define the Yale undergraduate experience. They give each student a home, a sense of place, an identity.”

President Levin presented a special framed photograph of one of Trumbull College’s distinctive gates to leadership donors Maria and Carlos Alvarez and their daughter Carla ’05. The Alvarez family then joined him at the podium for the ceremonial ribbon-cutting. In recognition of their generosity, Trumbull’s main courtyard has been named Alvarez Court.

Student pipers John Errico ’08 and John Graham ’08The rededication of Trumbull, which first opened in 1933, marks the seventh major renovation of a residential college at Yale, following Berkeley, Branford, Saybrook, Timothy Dwight, Pierson, and Davenport colleges. Highlights of the project include a fully renovated kitchen, servery, and dining hall; installation of new exterior windows; and the addition of program space including a new underground theater, computer rooms, exercise facilities, and more. The master’s house and the dean’s and fellow’s apartments also were renovated.

The official dedication program concluded with a performance by Irish dancers Connie Bowen ’08, Jessica Olson ’08, and Lauren Hefferon ’10 and was followed by a reception in the dining hall and common room.

(April 19, 2007)

April 19, 2007